Geology | Environmental Resources & Policy | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

Environmental Resources and Policy

Geology

Ken Anderson

Professor

Ken Anderson

Email:  kanderson@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-7389

Office: Parkinson Lab 310

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Clean coal technology
  • Ambers and fossil resins
  • Resource analysis 


James Conder

Associate Professor

James Conder

Email: conder@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-7352

Office: Parkinson Lab 101C

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Mantle flow and melt generation
  • Neotectonics


Steven Esling

Associate Professor and Chair

Steven Esling

Email: esling@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-7376

Office: Parkinson Lab 102

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Hydrogeology
  • Quaternary stratigraphy
  • Environmental modeling


Eric Ferre

Professor

Eric Ferre

Email: eferre@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-3351

Office: Parkinson Lab 301B

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Deformation of the lithosphere
  • Dynamics of mific layered magmatic intrusions
  • Flow and rheology of the partially molten continental crust
  • Origin of high magnetic remanence in fault pseudotachylytes

 


Justin Filiberto

Associate Professor

Justin Filiberto

Email: filiberto@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-4849

Office: Parkinson Lab 203

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Constrain the depth and thermal vigor of melting in the martian mantle
  • Investigate the effect of halogens on basalt genesis
  • Understand the origin of the Martian olivine-phyric shergottite meteorites
  • Investigate potential magnetic anomalies in the terrestrial upper mantle
    and lower crust

 


Scott Ishman

Professor and Associate

Scott Ishman

Email: sishman@siu.edu

Phone: (618) 453-7377

Office: Parkinson Lab 303

Profile

Research Interests:

  • Environmental controls on modern benthic foraminiferal distributions
  • Foraminifers as Late Neogene paleoenvironmental indicators
  • Holocene paleoclimatic and paleoceanographic reconstruction using
    benthic foraminifera


Liliana Lefticariu

Associate Professor

Liliana Lefticariu

Email:
lefticariu@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-7373

Office: Parkinson Lab 301D

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Isotope geochemists
  • Low-temperature geochemistry with an emphasis on the stable isotopes of
    elements that play key roles in biogeochemical processes


Sally Potter-McIntyre

Assistant Professor

Sally Potter-McIntyre

Email: pottermcintyre@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-3351

Office: Parkinson Lab

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Sedimentology
  • Sedumentary diagenesis
  • Basin analysis
  • Geochemistry of terrestrial environements 


Sue Rimmer

Professor

Sue Rimmer

Email: srimmer@siu.edu
Phone: (618) 453-7369

Office: Parkinson Lab 201D

Profile

Research Interest:

  • Biogeochemical cycles in organic-rich sediments
  • Stable isotopic composition of organic matter and interpretation of C and N isotope records
  • Linkages between OM and past atmospheric composition
  • Coal maturation and the role of heating rate